Invergarry & Fort Augustus Railway Museum is based on the old Invegarry Station which is being restored to recreate its 1930's condition.
The Railway opened in 1903 and closed to all traffic in 1947, with the track being lifted in 1948. Over the years the stations slowly disappeared, Gairlochy becoming a caravan site, Fort Augustus a school, Invergloy a bed and breakfast and Aberchalder a house. Only Invergarry platform remained, dormant and waiting to be rescued, a happy hunting ground for fly tippers.
Visitors are welcome to walk through the site at any time using NCN78/Great Glen Way. There is a demonstration line, currently 1/4 mile long. Operating days are held during the summer months - Please see web site.
The Invergarry & Fort Augustus Railway Museum is situated in the Great Glen adjacent to the A82 by the Laggan Swinf Bridge over the Caledonian Canal. The Nationa Cycle route NCN 78 and Great Glen Way run through the Museum.